Jackson miffed Warriors GM Myers not Executive of the Year
Share This Post

Warriors coach Mark Jackson has a message for those on the panel of team executives who didn't vote for Golden State general manager Bob Myers for NBA Executive of the Year: "You shouldn't have a vote."

Myers finished seventh in the voting for the award, which was given to Denver executive vice president of basketball operations Masai Ujiri.

"It's a joke," Jackson said on what he perceived as a slight to Myers.

"If I'm not Coach of the Year -- which I say I'm not -- and Steph Curry is not an All-Star and Harrison Barnes is not first-team all-rookie and Jarrett Jack is not the Sixth Man of the Year, then who is going to get the credit?"

Jackson pointed to Myers' offseason roster overhaul as the primary reason for the Warriors' success this year. During the regular season, 48.2 percent of the minutes played were by guys who didn't suit up for Golden State last season.

All three players selected in the NBA Draft -- Harrison Barnes (No. 8), Festus Ezeli (No. 30) and Draymond Green (No. 35) -- made significant contributions during the regular season and have been key during the team's postseason run. Myers also traded for Jarrett Jack, who finished third in the Sixth Man of the Year voting, and signed Carl Landry, who averaged 10.8 points and 6.0 rebounds in 82 regular-season games.

Before last season ended, Myers traded Monta Ellis and Ekpe Udoh for Andrew Bogut and Stephen Jackson, which opened the door for Klay Thompson to start at the two and allowed Golden State to hang on to its protected first-round pick used to draft Barnes. Jackson was immediately sent to San Antonio for Richard Jefferson and the pick used to select Ezeli.

Like Myers, Jackson finished seventh in the voting for Coach of the Year, which was awarded to George Karl.

Voting results

Name, Team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
Masai Ujiri, Denver 8 6 1 59

Gary Sacks, Clippers 

3 4 1 28

Daryl Morey, Houston

4 1 2 25

Glen Grunwald, New York    

2 4 3 25

R.C. Buford, San Antonio

4 1 1 24

Pat Riley, Miami

4 1 1 24

Bob Myers, Golden State

1 4 6 23

Sam Presti, Oklahoma City

1 1 4 12

Danny Ferry, Atlanta

1 1 0 8

Rob Hennigan, Orlando

1 0 2 7

Billy King, Brooklyn  

0 2 1 7

Donnie Walsh, Indiana

0 1 4 7

Kevin O'Connor, Utah

0 2 0 6

Jason Levien, Memphis

1 0 0 5

John Hammond, Milwaukee 

0 1 1 4

Dell Demps, New Orleans 

0 0 1 1

Gar Forman, Chicago 

0 0 1 1