Denver's George Karl wins NBA Coach of the Year Award
Share This Post

Programming note: Tune in tonight at 6 p.m. to ‘SportsNet Central: Warriors Edition’ for complete pregame coverage of Warriors-Spurs Game 2 leading up to tip off in San Antonio

After guiding the Golden State to the second-biggest win increase over last season, Warriors coach Mark Jackson finished seventh in the NBA's Coach of the Year voting.

Denver's George Karl was a runaway winner, finishing with more than half the first-place votes and more than double the total votes of Miami's Erik Spoelstra, who finished second.

Jackson's finish in the voting was a surprise to Warriors guard Stephen Curry.

"That's too low for me," Curry said. "I thought he was a definitely a shoe-in for Coach of the Year, I mean we're a team that hasn't tasted postseason success and to be in the second round with the injuries we've dealt with all year?"

After finishing 26-46 (.348) in Jackson's first year, the Warriors improved by 21 wins this season. Only Brooklyn had a bigger increase (27) and it marked the third-best turnaround in Warriors franchise history.

"We understand who the Coach of the Year is to us, no offense to George Karl -- he had a great year during the regular season," Curry said. "But the reason why we're preparing for Game 2 is 100 percent the coaches' game plan and (Jackson's) adjustments as a young coach."

Key words: regular season.

Voting for the award happened before the Nuggets were ousted by Golden State in the first round, prompting discussion about Karl's job security in the Denver media.

In a strange coincidence, when Golden State went to the playoffs in the 2006-07 season, it beat Dallas in the first round only to see the Mavericks' Dirk Nowitzki be named MVP after the fact.

The last Warriors coach to win the award was Don Nelson in the 1991-92 season.


Voting results

coach, team 1st 2nd 3rd Points
George Karl, Denver 62 26 16 404

Erik Spoelstra, Miami   

24 17 19 190

Mike Woodson, New York  

6 28 13 127

Gregg Popovich, San Antonio     

11 16 17 120

Frank Vogel, Indiana  

3 11 12 60

Lionel Hollins, Memphis

6 4 13 55

Mark Jackson, Golden State

3 6 14 47

Tom Thibodeau, Chicago   

2 7 9 40

Kevin McHale, Houston 

1 3 3 17

P.J. Carlesimo, Brooklyn

1 1 0 8

Vinny Del Negro, L.A. Clippers   

1 1 0 8

Larry Drew, Atlanta 

1 0 1 6

Doc Rivers, Boston   

0 1 1 4

Scott Brooks, Oklahoma City 

0 0 3 3