Programming note: Bruins-Sharks coverage begins Saturday at 7 p.m. with Sharks Pregame Live on Comcast SportsNet California\
UPDATE AT 2:10 P.M.: A league spokesman confirmed to CSNCalifornia.com that no hearing is scheduled for Danny Cleary.
Hannan immediately bull-rushed Cleary and engaged him in a fight after Cleary’s chicken-wing elbow hit him squarely in the head.
[REWIND: VIDEO -- Cleary elbows Hannan in head, sparks fight]
“I didn’t like it too much. I didn’t see it until the replay until this morning, but it looked pretty dirty,” Hannan said. “He swung his elbow out and it caught me on the jaw. I kind of lost it there for a bit.”
Hannan was issued an instigator penalty, fighting major and game misconduct at 18:07 of the third period, and per league rules, could have potentially been handed a one-game suspension and Todd McLellan fined $10,000.
A league spokesman confirmed to CSNCalifornia.com that Hannan would not be suspended and McLellan not fined, although the penalties remain on the books.
According to the spokeman, the rules (46.12 and 46.22) are in place to prevent players from sending a message, and “it was not written to preclude spontaneous acts - even ones in which one player clearly instigates a fight.”
Hannan said: “If you look at the play, I waited until the end and he takes a cheap shot like that, he’s got to expect it’s coming.”
McLellan said it’s up to the league to determine whether Cleary should face any supplemental discipline.
“It was a blow to the head, so we’ll see how they deal with it,” the coach said.