Does new 'head shot' rule account for Torres' suspension?
Share This Post

Sharks forward Raffi Torres was subject to a questionable suspension after a hit in Game 1 of the Sharks-Kings 2013 playoff series.

Torres made contact with Los Angeles forward Jarret Stoll's head, which caused Stoll to leave the game and resulted in a concussion which sidelined him for the rest of the series.

[RELATED: McLellan looks towards Sharks training camp]

The point of contention regarding the suspension seemed to be that Torres did not intentionally target Stoll's head, which is one of the chief stipulations in the NHL's 'head shot' rule.

Now a change to that rule could lead to more suspensions similar to the one Torres was subject to.

The new language of Rule 48.1 reads as follows: "a hit resulting in contact with an opponent's head where the head was the main point of contact and such contact to the head was avoidable."

The important distinction is that the language referring to "intentional targeting" of the head has been removed.

Clearly the NHL is trying to be more aggressive in enforcing hits to the head, possibly spurred on by the postseason hit from Torres who is historically one of the bigger offenders in the league.

What do you think? Is Torres' hit on Stoll unquestionably an illegal hit to the head according to the new language of the rule?