Kings draw 20th seed in 22-team Summer League Championship
Share This Post

The Kings received the 20th seed in the inaugural NBA Summer League Championship, a five-day tournament crowning one of 22 participating teams.

Sacramento will face the 13th-seeded Minnesota Timberwolves Wednesday night at 5 p.m. for the right to play the D-League Select Team in Round 2. The championship game is set for Monday night at 6 p.m.

First-round draft pick Ben McLemore leads the team in scoring with 51 points through three games. Second-round pick Ray McCallum is second with 43.

The Kings went 0-3 in its seeding games, falling to the Mavericks on Saturday, the Warriors on Monday and the Raptors on Tuesday.

McLemore missed 19 of his 23 shots in his debut, and the Kings fell to Josh Akognon and the Mavericks 76-73.

[RECAP: McLemore struggles in Kings' Summer League opener]

Things didn't get better for McLemore in the 80-66 loss to the Warriors. After two games, he was a combined 8-for-35 (.228) from the field and 2-for-18 (.111) from beyond the arc. But McCallum showed his skill with an impressive 23-point, six-steal performance.

[RECAP: Kings fall to Warriors, remain winless in Summer League]

McLemore found his stroke in Game 3, scoring a game-high 26 points on 8-for-14 shooting, but the Kings fell to the Raptors 81-70.

[RECAP: McLemore comes alive, but Kings fall to 0-3]

Following the first three games, the 22 Summer League teams are seeded in a tournament running through the Championship Game on July 22. Seeds 1-10 earn a bye in the first round games played on Wednesday, July 17.