49ers pre-draft depth chart: Offense
Share This Post

Coach Jim Harbaugh loves to create competition, but most of the starting jobs on the 49ers' offense are not open for debate.

The only change atop the depth chart from a year ago is at wide receiver, where Anquan Boldin can be expected to start alongside Michael Crabtree, the 49ers' No. 1 receiver.

Mario Manningham, Kyle Williams and Randy Moss started games at wide receiver a year ago. Moss will not return. Manningham and Williams will not take part in on-field work during the offseason program after sustaining season-ending knee injuries.

Manningham is not expected to be ready for the opening of training camp after undergoing surgery in mid-January to repair tears to his left anterior cruciate and posterior cruciate ligaments. Williams, who began running two weeks ago, is on pace to return at the start of camp.

[RELATED: 49ers offseason scorecard]

Veteran center Jonathan Goodwin could be in the toughest battle to retain his starting job. Daniel Kilgore and Joe Looney, the next-best linemen on the team, will have their opportunities in the offseason and training camp to contend for the starting job.

The biggest offensive void was created when Delanie Walker signed with the Tennessee Titans as a free agent. Walker played 56.8 percent of the 49ers' offensive snaps as the No. 2 tight end. Garrett Celek returns behind Vernon Davis, and the 49ers are expected to draft a tight end.

Alex Boone, the starter at right guard, was also the backup at both tackle positions. The 49ers can be expected to add a tackle who is capable of playing both sides.

QB -- Colin Kaepernick, Colt McCoy, Scott Tolzien
RB -- Frank Gore, Kendall Hunter, LaMichael James, Anthony Dixon, Jewel Hampton
FB -- Bruce Miller, Anthony Dixon, Will Tukuafu
WR -- Michael Crabtree, Kyle Williams, A.J. Jenkins, Chad Hall
WR -- Anquan Boldin, Mario Manningham, Ricardo Lockette, Marlon Moore, Joe Hastings
TE -- Vernon Davis, Garrett Celek, Demarcus Dobbs
LT -- Joe Staley, Alex Boone, Al Netter
LG -- Mike Iupati, Joe Looney, Al Netter
C -- Jonathan Goodwin, Daniel Kilgore, Joe Looney
RG -- Alex Boone, Joe Looney, Wayne Tribue
RT -- Anthony Davis, Alex Boone, Kenny Wiggins