Whitner takes shot at NFL regarding penalties
Share This Post

The NFL admitted last week 49ers safety Donte Whitner did not deserve a penalty against the Indianapolis Colts. He strongly disagreed with another call on which he was penalized Thursday night against the St. Louis Rams.

Whitner saved an apparent touchdown with a hit in the end zone on Rams wide receiver Chris Givens in the fourth quarter Thursday night. But Whitner was called for an unnecessary roughness penalty.

[RELATED: Week 4 Rewind: Bowman steps up for 49ers]

The receiver was stretched out in an attempt to make a catch that could have resulted in a touchdown, but Whitner jarred the ball from Givens with an apparent shoulder-to-helmet shot.

The way Whitner sees it, he was completely within his rights to make the hit and says the call was ridiculous.

“I think I’m just supposed to let them catch a touchdown now,” Whitner said Friday on SiriusXM NFL Radio. “I think that’s what the National Football League wants, but I’m not going to give them that. I’m going to continue to play physical, continue to hit the right way, lead with my shoulder, and I’m not targeting anybody’s head.”

Whitner argued a Week 3 penalty call that stemmed from his hit on Indianapolis Colts running back Ahmad Bradshaw. He was penalized 15 yards for hitting with the crown of his helmet, according to referee Terry McAulay.

The NFL told CSNBayArea.com on Friday that Whitner was not fined for the hit. If the hit had been with the crown of his helmet, Whitner would have been fined. In other words, the NFL decided it was a legal hit.

Did Whitner's hit on Givens deserve a penalty? The NFL will answer that question when it decides next week whether Whitner will be fined.

When asked if he'll appeal any potential fine resulting from his penalty in the Rams game, Whitner said, "Yeah, I’ll appeal it."

He added, "You know, I had one last week, first play of the game, throw to the flat to Ahmad Bradshaw and I hit him and he was knocked back. They gave me a 15-yard flag and two days later they called the 49ers and said it wasn’t a flag, it was a legal play and I wouldn’t be fined. So it looks like it could possibly be the same thing two weeks in a row."