DeBartolo leads lists of HOF nominees
Share This Post

Former 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo is among 126 modern-era nominees for the Class of 2014 Pro Football Hall of Fame.

DeBartolo and former 49ers pass-rusher Charles Haley were among the list of finalists this year. Running back Roger Craig was a finalist in 2010. Bryant Young and Ricky Watters are among the other former 49ers players who were nominated.

The list of 25 semifinalist nominees will be announced in late November. That semifinalist list will be further reduced by a mail ballot to 15 modern-era finalists and announced in early January.

The selection process by-laws provide that between four and seven new members will be selected every year. The Hall of Fame class will be selected from the list of 15 modern-era finalists, in addition to the two senior nominees. Former Raiders punter Ray Guy and former Atlanta and Philadelphia defensive end Claude Humphrey were selected last month by the Hall of Fame’s Senior Selection Committee.

Hall of Fame voting will take place in New York on Saturday, Feb. 1, the day before Super Bowl XLVIII.

Here is the list of modern-era nominees for the Hall of Fame, as announced Wednesday by the Pro Football Hall of Fame:

First-year Eligible Nominees
Quarterback – Trent Green
Running Backs – Shaun Alexander, Warrick Dunn
Wide Receiver – Marvin Harrison
Offensive Linemen – Willie Anderson (T), Walter Jones (T)
Linebackers – Derrick Brooks, Tedy Bruschi, Willie McGinest (also DE), Zach Thomas
Defensive Backs – Rodney Harrison (S), Sam Madison (CB), Patrick Surtain (CB)
Coaches – Tony Dungy, Jon Gruden, Mike Holmgren

Additional Nominees
Quarterbacks – Drew Bledsoe, Randall Cunningham, Doug Flutie, Steve McNair, Phil Simms
Running Backs – Ottis Anderson, Tiki Barber, *Jerome Bettis, Larry Centers, Roger Craig, Stephen Davis, Terrell Davis, Eddie George, Priest Holmes, Dave Meggett (also PR/KR), Eric Metcalf (also WR/PR/KR), Herschel Walker, Ricky Watters
Wide Receivers – *Tim Brown (also KR), Gary Clark, Mark Clayton, Henry Ellard (also PR), Keyshawn Johnson, Keenan McCardell, *Andre Reed, Sterling Sharpe, Jimmy Smith, Rod Smith
Tight End – Mark Bavaro
Offensive Linemen – Tony Boselli (T), Lomas Brown (T), Jim Covert (T), Jay Hilgenberg (C), Chris Hinton (G/T), Kent Hull (C), Joe Jacoby (T), Mike Kenn (T), Jim Lachey (T), Don Mosebar (C), Tom Nalen (C), Nate Newton (G), *Will Shields (G), Steve Wisniewski (G)
Defensive Linemen – Jerome Brown (DT), *Charles Haley (DE/LB), Ed “Too Tall” Jones (DE), Dexter Manley (DE), Charles Mann (DE), Steve McMichael (DT/NT), Fred Smerlas (NT), *Michael Strahan (DE), Ted Washington (DT/NT), Bryant Young (DE)
Linebackers – Cornelius Bennett, *Kevin Greene (LB/DE), Ken Harvey, Clay Matthews, Karl Mecklenburg, Sam Mills, Darryl Talley
Defensive Backs – Eric Allen (CB), Steve Atwater (S), Joey Browner (S), LeRoy Butler (S), Albert Lewis (CB), John Lynch (S), Troy Vincent (S), Everson Walls (CB), *Aeneas Williams (CB/S), Darren Woodson (S)
Kickers/Punter – Morten Andersen (K), Gary Anderson (K), Sean Landeta (P), Nick Lowery (K)
Special Teams/Position Player – Brian Mitchell (also RB), Steve Tasker (also WR)
Coaches – Bill Arnsparger, Don Coryell, Bill Cowher, Tom Flores, Jimmy Johnson, Chuck Knox, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon, Dan Reeves, Lou Saban, Marty Schottenheimer, Clark Shaughnessy, Dick Vermeil
Contributors – K. S. (Bud) Adams, Jr., Bobby Beathard, Gil Brandt, Leo Carlin, Red Cashion, Jack Kent Cooke, Otho Davis, *Edward DeBartolo Jr., Ron Gibbs, Jerry Jones, Eddie Kotal, Robert Kraft, Elmer Layden, Art McNally, *Art Modell, Bill Polian, Steve Sabol, Paul Tagliabue, Jim Tunney, Ron Wolf, George Young
*On 2013 finalists list